The 22 Senate Republicans who voted against reauthorizing the popular Violence Against Women Act this week include a trio of presidential aspirants, a pair of tea party rookies and the chamber’s most high-ranking GOP members.

Democrats were most surprised by Florida Sen. Marco Rubio’s vote against reauthorizing the law, which still passed the Senate by a wide margin. Kentucky Sen. Rand Paul and South Dakota Sen. John Thune, both eyeing the White House, also voted against the bill.

The other Republicans who voted against the bill ae Sens. John Barrasso (WY), Roy Blunt (MO), John Boozman (AR), Tom Coburn (OK), Mike Enzi (WY), Lindsey Graham (SC), Chuck Grassley (IA), Orrin Hatch (UT), James Inhofe (OK), Mike Johanns (NE), Ron Johnson (WI), Mike Lee (UT), Jim Risch (ID), Pat Roberts (KS), and Jeff Sessions (AL).


Latest Posts